Plans and pricing

Clusters are billed according to the amount of time they’re provisioned in a given month, prorated to the second. While prices on this page are quoted for the cost of an entire month, you will only be billed that amount if your cluster is provisioned for the entire month.

Pricing varies based on:

  • Instance size
  • Region
  • Storage

Below you will find the pricing by instance size for the East region of Amazon Web Services (AWS), Azure, and Google Cloud Platform (GCP).

You can use the interactive pricing calculator to estimate the cost of a cluster.

Tiers

Crunchy Bridge offers three tiers of databases – Hobby, Standard, and Memory – to cover a variety of use cases.

In general,

  • Hobby tier runs on lower quality underlying infrastructure, does not include PgBouncer, and is not intended for production usage. Cluster health monitoring and audit logging of Hobby tier instances is provided on a best-effort basis. Support is included on a best-effort basis, and no SLA is offered.
  • Standard tier provides a good balance of cores and memory balance and is intended for production usage.
  • Memory-optimized tier has a higher ratio of memory to cores, is intended for production usage, and may be better for SaaS workloads where a larger amount of data is kept in memory. These can only be provisioned on AWS.

High availability (HA) is available on any tier/plan and doubles the cluster price.

See the tables below for details about each tier and plan.

Hobby tier

Plan Cores Memory CPU Baseline Burst IOPs (AWS only) PG Versions Providers PgBouncer Support Price/month
Hobby-0 2 512MB 5% 11,800 PG15 only AWS only ❌ ⚠️ Best effort $9.00
Hobby-1 2 1GB 10% 11,800 PG15 only AWS only ❌ ⚠️ Best effort $18.00
Hobby-2 2 2GB 20% 11,800 PG12-15 AWS, Azure, GCP ❌ ⚠️ Best effort $35.00
Hobby-4 2 4GB 20% 11,800 PG12-15 AWS, Azure, GCP ❌ ⚠️ Best effort $70.00
Hobby-8 2 8GB 30% 11,800 PG12-15 AWS, Azure, GCP ❌ ⚠️ Best effort $140.00
Hobby-16 4 16GB 40% 15,700 PG12-15 AWS, Azure, GCP ❌ ⚠️ Best effort $280.00

Important Notes:

  • Hobby instances can be provisioned with a maximum of 100GB storage.
  • Hobby instances have burstable vCPUs. Utilization in excess of the baseline shown above will deplete available vCPU credits leading to CPU usage being constrained to the baseline.
  • Hobby instances do not include PgBouncer.
  • Cluster health monitoring and audit logging of Hobby tier instances is provided on a best-effort basis.
  • No SLA applies to Hobby instances.

Standard tier

Plan Cores Memory Burst IOPs (AWS only) PG Versions Providers PgBouncer Support Price/month
Standard-8 2 8GB 40,000 PG12-15 AWS, Azure, GCP βœ… βœ… $140.00
Standard-16 4 16GB 40,000 PG12-15 AWS, Azure, GCP βœ… βœ… $280.00
Standard-32 8 32GB 40,000 PG12-15 AWS, Azure, GCP βœ… βœ… $560.00
Standard-64 16 64GB 40,000 PG12-15 AWS, Azure, GCP βœ… βœ… $1,120.00
Standard-128 32 128GB 40,000 PG12-15 AWS, Azure, GCP βœ… βœ… $2,240.00
Standard-192 48 192GB 60,000 PG12-15 AWS, Azure, GCP βœ… βœ… $3,360.00
Standard-384 96 384GB 78,000 PG12-15 AWS, Azure, GCP βœ… βœ… $6,720.00

Memory-optimized tier (AWS only)

Plan Cores Memory Burst IOPs PG Versions Providers PgBouncer Support Price/month
Memory-16 2 16GB 40,000 PG12-15 AWS only βœ… βœ… $240.00
Memory-32 4 32GB 40,000 PG12-15 AWS only βœ… βœ… $480.00
Memory-64 8 64GB 40,000 PG12-15 AWS only βœ… βœ… $960.00
Memory-128 16 128GB 40,000 PG12-15 AWS only βœ… βœ… $1,920.00
Memory-256 32 256GB 40,000 PG12-15 AWS only βœ… βœ… $3,840.00
Memory-512 64 512GB 78,000 PG12-15 AWS only βœ… βœ… $7,640.00

Regions

Amazon Web Services (AWS)

Name Provider ID
Asia Pacific (Mumbai) ap-south-1
Asia Pacific (Tokyo) ap-northeast-1
Asia Pacific (Singapore) ap-southeast-1
Asia Pacific (Sydney) ap-southeast-2
Canada (Central) ca-central-1
Europe Central (Frankfurt) eu-central-1
Europe North (Stockholm) eu-north-1
Europe South (Milan) eu-south-1
Europe (Ireland) eu-west-1
Europe (Paris) eu-west-3
South America (SΓ£o Paulo) sa-east-1
US West (California) us-west-1
US East (N. Virginia) us-east-1
US East (Ohio) us-east-2
US West (Oregon) us-west-2

Azure

Name Provider ID
Australia East australiaeast
Australia Southeast australiasoutheast
Canada Central canadacentral
France Central francecentral
India Central centralindia
Japan East japaneast
Japan West japanwest
North Europe northeurope
UK South uksouth
UK West ukwest
US East 2 eastus2
US South Central southcentralus
US West westus
US West 2 westus2

Google Cloud Platform (GCP)

Name Provider ID
Asia Northeast 1 (Tokyo) asia-northeast1
Asia South 1 (Mumbai) asia-south1
Australia Southeast 1 (Sydney) australia-southeast1
Europe North 1 (Finland) europe-north1
Europe West 1 (Belgium) europe-west1
Europe West 3 (Finland) europe-west3
North America Northeast (MontrΓ©al) northamerica-northeast1
US Central 1 (Iowa) us-central1
US East 4 (Virgina) us-east4
US West 1 (Oregon) us-west1

Storage

Storage is an additional $0.10 per GB to the total rate per month.

Example - AWS US East Standard-8 instance with 100 GB storage:

$140.00 + $0.10 * 100 = $150.00/month

AWS Storage details

For AWS the underlying storage leverages GP2 disks. This storage provides both:

  • A sustained IOPS level
  • Burst capabilities to the max allowed of your instance

Sustained IOPS translate to your storage size provisioned, at a rate of 3 IOPS per 1 GB of storage. As an example a 1TB disk would have roughly 3k IOPS.

IOPS

All storage is provisioned at a rate of 3 IOPS per 1 GB. For sustained usage. All instances receive a burst capacity of their maximum amount of IOPS per the instance type. For burst IOPS the limit relates to the instance that is provisioned. You can see the exact level in the tiers section above.

A few examples to highlight IO performance:

Hobby-4 with 100 GB disk

  • Sustained IOPS of 300
  • Burst capability of 17,500 IOPS

Standard-32 with 2 TB disk

  • Sustained IOPS of 6,144
  • Burst capability of 18,750 IOPS

Migrating Your Database to Crunchy Bridge

Existing databases can be migrated to Crunchy Bridge from a number of cloud Postgres providers, including Amazon, Azure, Google Cloud, and Heroku.

Contact us if you would like additional details about migrating your existing database.