Plans and pricing

Databases are billed based on time consumed. You are not billed for an entire month unless your database is provisioned that entire time.

Pricing varies based on:

  • The instance you provision.
  • The amount of storage.
  • The region you provision in.

Below you will find the pricing by instance size for the East region of Amazon Web Services (AWS), Azure, and Google Cloud Platform (GCP).

Tiers

Hobby tier

Hobby Tier Cores Memory Max IOPS Price/month
Hobby-2 1 2GB 11,800 US$35.00
Hobby-4 1 4GB 11,800 US$70.00
Hobby-8 2 8GB 11,800 US$140.00
Hobby-16 4 16GB 15,700 US$280.00

Standard tier

Standard Tier Cores Memory IOPS Price/month
Standard-8 2 8GB 18,750 US$140.00
Standard-16 4 16GB 18,750 US$280.00
Standard-32 8 32GB 18,750 US$560.00
Standard-64 16 64GB 18,750 US$1,120.00
Standard-128 32 128GB 30,000 US$2,240.00
Standard-192 48 192GB 40,000 US$3,360.00
Standard-384 96 384GB 60,000 US$6,720.00

Memory optimized tier

Memory-optimized Tier (AWS only) Cores Memory Max IOPS Price/month
Memory-16 2 16GB 18,750 US$240.00
Memory-32 4 32GB 18,750 US$480.00
Memory-64 8 64GB 18,750 US$960.00
Memory-128 16 128GB 18,750 US$1,920.00
Memory-256 32 256GB 30,000 US$3,840.00
Memory-512 64 512GB 60,000 US$7,640.00

High availability is available on all tiers and increases your cluster price to twice the amount per month.

Regions

Amazon Web Services (AWS)

Name Provider ID
Asia Pacific (Mumbai) ap-south-1
Asia Pacific (Tokyo) ap-northeast-1
Asia Pacific (Singapore) ap-southeast-1
Asia Pacific (Sydney) ap-southeast-2
Canada (Central) ca-central-1
Europe Central (Frankfurt) eu-central-1
Europe North (Stockholm) eu-north-1
Europe South (Milan) eu-south-1
Europe (Ireland) eu-west-1
Europe (Paris) eu-west-3
South America (São Paulo) sa-east-1
US West (California) us-west-1
US East (N. Virginia) us-east-1
US East (Ohio) us-east-2
US West (Oregon) us-west-2

Azure

Name Provider ID
Australia East australiaeast
Australia Southeast australiasoutheast
Canada Central canadacentral
France Central francecentral
India Central centralindia
Japan East japaneast
Japan West japanwest
North Europe northeurope
UK South uksouth
UK West ukwest
US East 2 eastus2
US South Central southcentralus
US West westus
US West 2 westus2

Google Cloud Platform (GCP)

Name Provider ID
Asia Northeast 1 (Tokyo) asia-northeast1
Asia South 1 (Mumbai) asia-south1
Australia Southeast 1 (Sydney) australia-southeast1
Europe North 1 (Finland) europe-north1
Europe West 1 (Belgium) europe-west1
Europe West 3 (Finland) europe-west3
North America Northeast (Montréal) northamerica-northeast1
US Central 1 (Iowa) us-central1
US East 4 (Virgina) us-east4
US West 1 (Oregon) us-west1

Storage

Storage is an additional US$0.10 per GB to the total rate per month.

Example - AWS US East Standard-8 instance with 100 GB storage:

US$140.00 + $0.10 * 100 = US$150.00/month

AWS Storage details

For AWS the underlying storage leverages GP2 disks. This storage provides both:

  • A sustained IOPS level
  • Burst capabilities to the max allowed of your instance

Sustained IOPS translate to your storage size provisioned, at a rate of 3 IOPS per 1 GB of storage. As an example a 1TB disk would have roughly 3k IOPS.

IOPS

All storage is provisioned at a rate of 3 IOPS per 1 GB. For sustained usage. All instances receive a burst capacity of their maximum amount of IOPS per the instance type. For burst IOPS the limit relates to the instance that is provisioned. You can see the exact level in the tiers section above.

A few examples to highlight IO performance:

Hobby-4 with 100 GB disk

  • Sustained IOPS of 300
  • Burst capability of 17,500 IOPS

Standard-32 with 2 TB disk

  • Sustained IOPS of 6,144
  • Burst capability of 18,750 IOPS